Where it all began

Back in the mid 60’s when I was about 2 or 3 years old we had visitors from Australia. They showed us slides of Australia and in particular the Blue Mountains where they had a farm. I was captivated by the beauty and amazed by the colours of these mountains. I think it was at that point that I decided I would go there some day.

However as with most people life doesn’t always take the route that you envisage as a young child. Don’t get me wrong, I have no regrets about the direction that it did take and I have 2 wonderful (now grown up) kids as a result. If life hadn’t taken me on that particular path I may not have realised my dream of going to Australia and I certainly wouldn’t be the strong independent woman that I am today.

After I seperated from my husband I decided that at some stage in the future I would go to Australia. I didn’t care if it was for 2 weeks holiday, 6 months back packing or for good. One way or another I was definitely going to go. So 10 years ago at the age of 42 I got my first passport. Considering I had never been further than across the pond as they say to the UK I decided that maybe I should go somewhere a little closer before taking on such a huge trip with 2 teenagers so Croatia was my first stop. I was completely taken by this beautiful country and maybe some day in the future I will return there again. That first trip sparked my desire to travel as much as possible and explore the many different cultures associated with the countries that I visit. Later that summer we went to Spain.

The following year my 16 (at the time) year old daughter and I headed to Australia for 5 weeks stopping off in Singapore on the way out and Hong Kong on the way back. I went to Australia again for just 2 weeks before moving there for 18 months. In the time since my return I have been back to Ireland and left it again for the UK and now I am back here in Ireland again.

I still have a huge desire to travel but I am not currently in a position to do so. So what am I going to do about that?

A couple of weeks ago I decided that I was fed up with the food that I was eating. I felt that I was eating the same boring meals over and over again. That gave me the idea that once a week I would have an international food night. While looking for recipes for different countries I got the idea that I could learn more than a recipe by doing some research and communicating with people fom different countries. This will leave me even more prepared for when I travel again.

My next few posts will be playing catch up on the countries that I have already covered for International food night, Greece, Vietnam and the UK. Next country on the list is Spain.

Join me as I discover what different countries have to offer and see what I have learned.

Until next time.

Cheers

Published by

wildliferambler

I have always been fascinated by other countries and their cultures and have wanted to travel. Ten years ago at the age of 42 I got my first passport and my travel adventures began. Over the next few years I travelled both for holiday and to live abroad. Now I am in the position that for now at least I have to put my travel experiences on hold. However I still have a huge desire to learn and experience as much as I can about other countries and their cultures. Until I can tavel again I will feed this desire by learning as much as I can through research and communicating with people from other countries so that when the time is right I will be well prepared for the adventures to come.

Leave a Reply

