Vietnam and Banh Xeo

P1160971

I have been to parts of Asia but never to Vietnam. However I would quite like to visit sometime in the future. There are other Asian countries that have a higher priority for me as I have friends in Japan, Korea and Malaysia. I also want to go to Indonesia and Thailand to spend some time volunteering with Wildlife Rescue and Rehabilitation Groups there. Wildlife is very special to me and I have been very lucky to have worked with Wildlife and some wonderful people who take care of Wildlife in need.

When it comes to Vietnam and food I instantly think of lemongrass, limes, coriander and fish. While looking for recipes I came across several articles recommending a delightful street food called Banh Xeo. As usual there seems to be a number of variations on this dish and of course I had to adjust it to suit the ingredients available to me. This is a food that can be eaten with your hands which makes it an ideal Street Food or great for anyone who wants to reduce the amount of washing up. While Banh Xeo doesn’t use the ingredients that remind me of Vietnam it is a very nice meal. I will try another Vietnamese dish in the future using those ingredients.

To make Banh Xeo is very easy. The pancake base can be made the day before and is best if it can be made at least a few hours before cooking. Mix your Rice Flour and Turmeric and then mix in your coconut cream or coconut milk and water. I had to use Wheat Flour as I couldn’t get Rice Flour and some recipes recommend half and half. Boil some Pork Belly and when cooked slice it into bite sized pieces. Fry some onion and garlic in a little oil then add the pork. Next add the pancake mix, reduce the heat and cover, leave to cook for a few minutes. Add a handful of beansprouts and heat through then fold in half dip in the Dipping Sauce and enjoy.

Ingredients

Pancake mix                                                            

250g Rice Flour

85g Wheat Flour

2-3 tsps of Turmeric

400ml of Coconut milk/cream

800ml of water

Filling

2kg Pork Belly

1 Medium Onion

1 Clove of Garlic

1 Can of Beansprouts

Dipping Sauce

1 Whole lemon chopped

Sugar and hot boiled water to taste

Fish Sauce to taste

The Dipping Sauce is made completely to taste but make the lemon water first then add the fish sauce last. I also added chillies garlic and spring onion all finely chopped.

Join me next time for UK night.

 

Published by

wildliferambler

I have always been fascinated by other countries and their cultures and have wanted to travel. Ten years ago at the age of 42 I got my first passport and my travel adventures began. Over the next few years I travelled both for holiday and to live abroad. Now I am in the position that for now at least I have to put my travel experiences on hold. However I still have a huge desire to learn and experience as much as I can about other countries and their cultures. Until I can tavel again I will feed this desire by learning as much as I can through research and communicating with people from other countries so that when the time is right I will be well prepared for the adventures to come.

Leave a Reply

