Fish and Chips Sydney Style

P1170095

I have been to Australia 3 times and lived there for 18 months. I have lost count of the amount of times I have been to Sydney but it has been a lot. There is far too much for me to say about Australia in just 1 post. Sydney (and in particular Sydney Harbour) is my favourite place in the world to visit. It is just so busy and full of life of all kinds. You could meet anyone from any part of the world there. In fact the last night that I spent in Sydney I was walking along George’s Street when I heard my name being called. I looked around to see a friend of mine from South Korea leaning across her car and calling to me through her passenger window. She had been driving along the street, thought she saw me so did a loop around the block and caught up with me again.

The first time I was in Australia I spent a week there with my then sixteen year old daughter. We were both instantly captivated by how busy and amazing this city is. There are so many things to do and see and there was no way we could fit it into just one week. One of the highlights for me was taking a trip to the Blue Mountains by train. Having arrived in the mountains we had the choice of a hop on hop off bus service where we could get off and back on at the same stops or get off and trek through the mountains (the option we chose) and meet the bus at an alternative stop. 2007_0711australia0310

As animal lovers the city has lots to offer with the Aquarium in Darling Harbour and of course Taronga Zoo both of which I had to visit with my kids (then grown up) when they came to spend Christmas with me in 2009. 2007_0711australia0187

There is a frequent ferry service from Darling Harbour and Sydney Harbour to Taronga.

One of the things that I love about Sydney Harbour is the Street Performers and the different characters. It’s great to be able to sit outside a bar or restaurant and watch the goings on. This is not something that happens very often back here in Ireland mostly due to the cold weather but it is also partly a cultural thing.2007_0711australia0147

When it comes to food there is a huge variety with food from several different countries. Fish plays a large part in the diet along the coast and fish and chips is a great choice for a traveller who wants to sit and watch the Street Performers (just watch out for the seagulls). The first time I was in Sydney I found a chippie who did the best fish and chips I had ever had. Two years later when I came to live in Australia I went back there to find that while they still did the more traditional fish and chips they now also offered a more healthy version. There was the choice of fish with or without batter and fried or grilled and the option of salad instead (or as well) of chips. I highly recommend the grilled fish with salad. Of course there is also a great choice of fish.

For my Fish and Chips Sydney style I had no choice in the fish. The only fish I could find was frozen Cod. My oven doesn’t work properly so using it or the grill for cooking something as delicate as fish was not an option. I don’t have a deep fat fryer so the chips were baked in my dodgy oven (much better for me than deep fried anyway) and for the salad my only choice was prepacked salad leaves that had probably seen better days. I could get avocado but it was far from ripe so I couldn’t use it.

INGREDIENTS

Fish of choice 1 piece per person

Lemon

Mixed herbs

Potatoes 2 per person (depending on size)

Salad leaves

Any other salad you would like to add

METHOD

Sprinkle mixed herbs and lemon juice on the fish

Grill or bake the fish en papillon  (I had to shallow fry)

Peel and cut the potatoes and bake in the oven until golden and cooked through (or deep fry if you prefer)

Make up salad as desired.

NOTE: en papillon is just a fancy way of saying it is baked in baking parchment but it does keep the fish nice and moist and full of flavour that can otherwise be lost. This is the method that I prefer.

Now dish up your fish and chips on a plate )or if you want to be more authentic then serve it in paper) and enjoy.

There is so much to say about Australia and its food I will return here at some stage in the future. Next time is Indonesia.

Cheers!

 

Published by

wildliferambler

I have always been fascinated by other countries and their cultures and have wanted to travel. Ten years ago at the age of 42 I got my first passport and my travel adventures began. Over the next few years I travelled both for holiday and to live abroad. Now I am in the position that for now at least I have to put my travel experiences on hold. However I still have a huge desire to learn and experience as much as I can about other countries and their cultures. Until I can tavel again I will feed this desire by learning as much as I can through research and communicating with people from other countries so that when the time is right I will be well prepared for the adventures to come.

Leave a Reply

