Poland and Kotlet Schabowi

P1170127resize

Poland is definitely a country for anyone with an interest in Wildlife and Nature to visit. It has vast areas of forests, lakes and rivers and of course mountains. The highest part of the Carpathian mountains is the Tatra mountains and is a must for anyone who wants to see Brown Bears and Wild Boar to name just a few of the Wildlife species which can be seen there. Kampanos National Park has Moose, Beaver and Lynx and Bialowieza National Park has a large population of European Bison. For an Irish person with a passion for Wildlife like me this would be an amazing experience and is definitely on my Bucket List.

Over the last 25 years or so many Polish people have come to live in Ireland. Polish is now the 2nd most spoken language here ahead of our own native Irish language. As a result it is very easy to get Polish food even in a small country town in the middle of nowhere like the town I live in. Of course Murphy’s Law has meant that the ingredients for the meal my daughter in law picked are all ingredients that are in most Irish kitchens on a regular basis anyway. She picked Kotlet Schabowi with mashed potato, sautéed mushrooms and onions with gravy.

INGREDIENTS

Pork Chops

Salt and Pepper to taste

Oregeno or Marjoram

Plain flour

1 egg

Mushrooms

Onions

Potatoes

Quantities are according to the number of people.

METHOD

Tenderise the pork. Kate did ours by putting the chops between 2 chopping boards and hammered them with a heavy rolling pin until they were thin and tender. (In this house we are very resourceful)

Next sprinkle the chops with the different seasonings and rub in (both sides). Meanwhile beat the egg in a bowl big enough to dip the chops in and spread a thin layer of the flour on a plate or board. Dip the seasoned chops first in the egg and then in the flour. they can then be either fried for a few minutes on each side until cooked through or baked in the oven on 200C for about 15 minutes. (We fried ours)

Serve with mashed potatoes, sautéed mushrooms and onions and gravy over the top.

Join me next week for Moldovan night.

 

 

 

Published by

wildliferambler

I have always been fascinated by other countries and their cultures and have wanted to travel. Ten years ago at the age of 42 I got my first passport and my travel adventures began. Over the next few years I travelled both for holiday and to live abroad. Now I am in the position that for now at least I have to put my travel experiences on hold. However I still have a huge desire to learn and experience as much as I can about other countries and their cultures. Until I can tavel again I will feed this desire by learning as much as I can through research and communicating with people from other countries so that when the time is right I will be well prepared for the adventures to come.

Leave a Reply

