America, Burgers and chips

P1170370resize

I’m sure I don’t need to tell you that America is too big to cover in just one post so I am going to choose just one state, New York State.

When I think of New York I think of the city rather than the state and therefore I think of a large bustling city with lots going on. There is just so much to offer visitors here from the shopping to the arts and culture of the city through to the wildlife of Central Park. I think this is a city that I would have to team up with a New Yorker to show me the parts of the city that are hidden gems and perhaps off the beaten track. However for me Central Park is a must.

Outside of the city I would definitely have to visit the Adirondack Park and mountains. This is over 6 million acres of Nature Reserve which is roughly a third of the size of Ireland. This part of New York State can offer me some of the things to do on my Bucket List such as Rock climbing and White water rafting along with other outdoor activities that I have already done such as kayaking, hiking, cycling and of course Wildlife Observation. Some of the wildlife here that is not native to Ireland are Moose, Bears, Coyotes, Beavers, Cougars, Raccoons, Skunk, Bald Eagles and Great Horned Owls just to name a few.

There is some debate as to the origin of the Burger and chips/fries. Some claim it is German but as most people consider it to be American I’m good with that. Besides I’m not cooking for American night as it is my birthday my son is cooking his version of Burger and fries or chips as we call them here in Ireland.

Rob’s Burger and Chips

Ingredients

Potatoes peeled and chipped

Minced beef

Smoked back rashers of bacon

Oregano

Paprika

Salt and pepper

Cheddar cheese

Bundy’s

Sauce according to taste

Quantities according to the number of servings

Method

Peel and chip the potatoes and steep in water over night (this makes the chips more fluffy inside)

Place chips in roasting dish sprinkle with oil, oregano and seasonings and cook at 200C for 30 mins or until cooked.

Add seasoning to the mince (as this is his secret recipe I’m not actually sure of what seasoning is in it so add whatever appeals to you) form the mince into burger shapes (Rob made his nearly the size of the plate) then grill on a medium heat for 10 mins approx on each side depending on the thickness. Grill the rashers according to taste. Toast the inside of the bundy’s under the grill then add the cheese and melt. Next put the burger together adding any extra sauces, onions, gherkins or whatever you may like. Serve with the chips and enjoy.

Thank you Robbie xx

Join me next time for Indian night.

 

Published by

wildliferambler

I have always been fascinated by other countries and their cultures and have wanted to travel. Ten years ago at the age of 42 I got my first passport and my travel adventures began. Over the next few years I travelled both for holiday and to live abroad. Now I am in the position that for now at least I have to put my travel experiences on hold. However I still have a huge desire to learn and experience as much as I can about other countries and their cultures. Until I can tavel again I will feed this desire by learning as much as I can through research and communicating with people from other countries so that when the time is right I will be well prepared for the adventures to come.

Leave a Reply

