Saudi Arabia, Meat and Walnut Nadi with Dates

008This is not a part of the world that I am familiar with and I have never eaten food from here before. My only experience is from watching movies as a child where I saw incredible deserts and oasis and of course camels and the magnificent Arabian horses.

Saudi Arabia looks after its Wildlife and as a result there are many Wildlife Reserves including the King Khaled Wildlife Research Center in Thumamah. As a Wildlife Rescuer and Rehabilitator this is somewhere that I would love to work in. Here they specialize in the captive breeding of endangered species and the reintroduction of endangered species. Of course you can see Wildlife in its native environment too. Even the deserts have some wildlife but the many oasis and springs are home to a variety of species.

When it comes to food the only thing that immediately came to mind was dates so when I discovered the dish Meat and Walnut Nadi with dates I just had to try it. As per usual there are many variations of this dish some with Dibis Raman and some without. I couldn’t get Dibis Raman or even just Pomegranate juice to make my own so I had to do without. However even though I really enjoyed the Nadi without Dibis Raman I will definitely try it with it sometime in the future.

Meat and Walnut Nadi with Dates

Ingredients

500g minced beef

3 tablespoons of butter

30g of chopped coriander

3/4 teaspoon allspice

pinch of salt and pepper

125ml hot water

5 tablespoons of lemon juice

1/2 teaspoon of grated lemon zest

75g chopped walnuts

100g chopped dates

30g dibis raman (optional but recommended)

Method

Heat the butter in the pan then add the meat and cook until brown. Add the allspice and coriander and cook for 2-3 minutes. Next add the water and lemon juice bring to the boil and then cook on a low heat for about 20 minutes. Add the lemon zest, walnuts and dates and cook for a further 5 minutes. Serve on a bed of rice (I used brown rice but white rice is more traditional) and enjoy.

Join me next time for Costa Rican night.

Published by

wildliferambler

I have always been fascinated by other countries and their cultures and have wanted to travel. Ten years ago at the age of 42 I got my first passport and my travel adventures began. Over the next few years I travelled both for holiday and to live abroad. Now I am in the position that for now at least I have to put my travel experiences on hold. However I still have a huge desire to learn and experience as much as I can about other countries and their cultures. Until I can tavel again I will feed this desire by learning as much as I can through research and communicating with people from other countries so that when the time is right I will be well prepared for the adventures to come.

Leave a Reply

