Costa Rica and Casado

022Costa Rica is high up on my list of places to visit. Apart from the beauty of this fabulous country for me the attraction is the Wildlife and the Environment. There are 52 species of Hummingbirds and of course the Sloth just to name a few. If you enjoy outdoor pursuits then there is certainly lots to choose from  here. Whitewater Rafting is a must for me and a ride on the Zip Wires. The landscape is incredible with the Rain forests, Volcanoes and the rivers such as the incredible blue Rio Celeste. Somehow I don’t think just a week or two would be enough for me here.

Costa Rica has a mixture of South American and Caribbean style food. I decided to go with Casado which can be South American style with black eyed beans and rice with red peppers and onion or the Caribbean style which has rice and peas (rice cooked in coconut milk and mixed with kidney beans). I went with the South American style. Of course as always there are several variations on this dish. Typically  what they have in common is a serving of black eyed beans, rice with finely red pepper and onion, fried plantain, a salad of some sort (usually tomato and cabbage) a variety of meat (normally at least 3 meats) and sometimes a fried egg and chips. This is far too much food for me to handle so I just went for the rice, beans, plantain and just 1 pork chop.

Casado (My Style)

Ingredients

1 Pork Chop

1 serving of canned black eyed beans

1/2 cup brown rice

1/4 red pepper finely chopped

1/4 onion finely chopped

1/2 plantain

Serves 1

Method

Grill or roast the pork chop (or your meat of choice)

Cook rice. When rice is cooked and drained add the peppers and onion. The heat from the rice should cook the pepper and onion enough but you can cook them separately and then add them if you prefer. Fry the plantain on a medium heat or you can grill or bake it with the meat. Heat beans until piping hot throughout. Plate up, sit back and enjoy.

Join me next time for Croatia night.

 

Published by

wildliferambler

I have always been fascinated by other countries and their cultures and have wanted to travel. Ten years ago at the age of 42 I got my first passport and my travel adventures began. Over the next few years I travelled both for holiday and to live abroad. Now I am in the position that for now at least I have to put my travel experiences on hold. However I still have a huge desire to learn and experience as much as I can about other countries and their cultures. Until I can tavel again I will feed this desire by learning as much as I can through research and communicating with people from other countries so that when the time is right I will be well prepared for the adventures to come.

Leave a Reply

