Malaysia and Beef Rendang

095

Technically I have been to Malaysia. I had a 2 hour stop over on my way to Australia so I can’t really count that. However I would like to go there some day as I have a very good friend there. As she was born in and has lived in Kuala Lumpar for most of her life she will definitely have to be my guide. There is nothing like local knowledge when it comes to experiencing local culture and activities that you may not know about otherwise. There are 2 things that I would like to do in Kuala Lumpar and they are to visit the local markets (something I like to do no matter where I go) and the other is to pay a visit to the KL Bird Park.

Away from KL there is the Mount Kinabalu Via Ferrata. Rock climbing is one of the things on my bucket list and the Mount Kinabalu Via Ferrata is a great way for a beginner to have that experience.

The Cameron Highlands is another must for me. Here I can go kayaking and Wildlife watching while enjoying a variety of habitats.

Malaysian food has been influenced by a number of different cultures so it should be easy to find food to suit every taste. Rendang is one of the most popular dishes and so I have chosen Beef Rendang. I like to cook everything from scratch as much as possible but in this case I cheated and used a paste from a jar. It was very easy to make this way but I am sure that it would have tasted much better from scratch.

Beef Rendang (Serves 4)

Ingredients

400g beef cubed

1 jar of rendang paste

1 can of coconut milk

50g of desiccated coconut

oil for frying (I used coconut oil but any oil will do)

onion sliced and fried for garnish

coriander for garnish

Coriander Rice

Basmati rice (60g – 80g per serving)

3 tablespoons of fresh coriander finely chopped

3-4 cardamon pods

salt and pepper to taste

Method

First heat the desiccated coconut on a medium heat until browned. You will not need oil for it as it produces its own oil as it starts to heat up but do keep it stirred otherwise it could burn easily.

Next heat some oil and brown the meat all over. Add the paste and cook for 5 minutes (or according to recipe on jar). Add the coconut milk and the toasted coconut keeping some of the toasted coconut back as garnish. Cook on a low heat for 2-3 hours until the sauce has reduced. (This recipe is meant to be quite dry but mine didn’t reduce enough so still had quite a lot of sauce)

 

For the rice cook according to instructions on packet adding the coriander and cardamon pods.

Serve the Rendang on a bed of rice and garnish with the fried onion and toasted coconut (kerisik)

Join me next time for Japanese night.

Published by

wildliferambler

I have always been fascinated by other countries and their cultures and have wanted to travel. Ten years ago at the age of 42 I got my first passport and my travel adventures began. Over the next few years I travelled both for holiday and to live abroad. Now I am in the position that for now at least I have to put my travel experiences on hold. However I still have a huge desire to learn and experience as much as I can about other countries and their cultures. Until I can tavel again I will feed this desire by learning as much as I can through research and communicating with people from other countries so that when the time is right I will be well prepared for the adventures to come.

Leave a Reply

