Austria and Tiroler Gröstl

006

Austria is a country that has so many options for someone like me that there are far too many for me to go into here. It has a wonderful landscape that is home to a wide variety of Wildlife and many hiking routes to suit all levels. One place that struck me that I have to visit is the Kalkalpen National Park. This is the largest forest in Austria but the trees here have been left to mature, die and regenerate in a natural way. This provides a very important habitat for many creatures including insects which we often take for granted or just completely ignore but have an extremely important role in keeping the balance in nature. The park has many canyons, gorges, rivers and lakes as well as the forest providing a variety of habitats and I’m sure that you will find something to please you here.

Vienna is the city that is top of my list. When I was a kid like most young girls I wanted a pony but I was very happy when I got a book about horses from around the world instead. One of the pictures in this book was of the Lipizzaner Horses being put through their paces in the Spanish Riding School in Vienna. I was completely taken with them and it would mean a lot to me to be able to visit there with my now grown up daughter. I grew out of the wanting a pony phase as I got older but she didn’t. She now has her own horses.

If you are not interested in horses there are lots of other things to do in Vienna. Anyone who has an interest in art, history or food will have plenty to keep them entertained.

For this weeks dish I chose Tiroler Gröstl. This is a dish that is very popular with hikers in the Alpine region. It is very simple to make and is tasty and filling.

Tiroler Gröstl

Ingredients

500g potatoes peeled and cut into bite sized chunks

400g bacon rashers (cut into pieces) or lardons

1 large onion chopped into bite sized chunks

2 teaspoons of paprkika

Fried egg (optional)

Chopped parsley to garnish

Method 

Boil the potatoes until cooked but still quite firm. Fry the onion and bacon until cooked through and the bacon is nice and crispy. Add the potato, mix together with the bacon and onion and also the paprika and parsley (I couldn’t get parsley) and cook until the potato is fully coated and starting to get a little crispy. Serve with a fried egg on top.

Join me next time for Mexican night

 

Published by

wildliferambler

I have always been fascinated by other countries and their cultures and have wanted to travel. Ten years ago at the age of 42 I got my first passport and my travel adventures began. Over the next few years I travelled both for holiday and to live abroad. Now I am in the position that for now at least I have to put my travel experiences on hold. However I still have a huge desire to learn and experience as much as I can about other countries and their cultures. Until I can tavel again I will feed this desire by learning as much as I can through research and communicating with people from other countries so that when the time is right I will be well prepared for the adventures to come.

Leave a Reply

