Mexico and Enchiladas

009

As a dog lover Chihuahua is a place that I have to discover more about. These dogs may be small but they are strong and full of character and I want to see if this is reflected in the local people too. Chihuahua has a lot more to offer than the origin of the dog breed and Copper Canyon seems like an ideal place for me to discover the diversity of this area. It is host to a wide variety of habitats in turn supporting a wide variety of Wildlife. The fact that there are many options for rock climbing and water sport activities is a bonus for me. An experience not to be missed is a 14 hour train journey along the canyon and through the many tunnels where you can experience the amazing tunnels and view some spectacular scenery. It’s hard to believe that with our modern lifestyle some local indigenous communities still live in some of these tunnels.

I know that Tabasco Sauce has nothing to do with the area know as Tabasco in Mexico but with a name like that curiosity got the better of me and the more I read about this place the more I want to visit it. It is ideal for me. Although it welcomes tourists it is still relatively free of tourists. Like many other parts of Mexico it has a wide variety of habitats supporting a wide variety of wildlife. 80% of Mexico’s Rain forest is here. The River Grijalva which is 1000 km long runs through here and with a river that long there has got to be plenty to offer in terms of both wildlife and water based activities.

When it comes to Mexican food we immediately think Tacos, Fajitas, Chili con carne to name just a few. I usually cook something Mexican at least once a week but for some reason (not sure why really) I have never had Enchiladas so for this reason and the fact that it is such a popular dish I decided now was the time to try them. MMMMMM delicious. As with most recipes there are so many different ones to choose from. With Enchiladas the only thing I found in common throughout was the meat and tortilla wraps. It seems that apart from these two ingredients anything goes. Even the Enchilada Sauce varies greatly from one recipe to another.

Chicken Enchiladas

Ingredients (makes 6)

2 chicken fillets sliced

1/2 green pepper (capsicum) chopped

1/2 red pepper (capsicum) chopped

1/2 yellow pepper (capsicum) chopped

1/2 medium onion chopped

2 garlic cloves crushed and chopped

oil for frying

Grated cheddar cheese for topping (amount depending on taste)

Enchilada Sauce

6 tortilla wraps

Method

Cook the chicken on a high heat until half cooked (roughly 5 mins depending on size). Add the vegetables and cook until just tender (roughly another 5 mins depending on size). Mix in half the Enchilada Sauce then divide the mixture between the wraps and place in an ovenproof dish. Cover with the remaining sauce and grated cheese. Place in a preheated oven at 200 C and cook until the cheese starts to brown and bubble (roughly 20 mins).

Enchilada Sauce

Ingredients

1/4 cup of oil

1/4 cup of flour

1 cup of chicken stock

1 teaspoon of oregano

1 teaspoon of cumin

1 teaspoon of garlic powder

1 teaspoon of black pepper

1 tablespoon of brown sugar

4 tablespoons of chili powder (this makes it very hot and spicy so can be greatly reduced according to taste. In fact I recommend starting with half this amount and adding more according to taste).

Method

Heat the oil in a pan and gradually add the combined dry ingredients. Cook for about 1 minute then add the chicken stock. (This makes a very thick sauce so you may prefer to add extra liquid) Cook gently for just a few minutes then use as directed above. This can also be made in larger batches and either kept in a fridge for a few days or frozen.

I’m taking a break from this regular page for the next couple of weeks as I head to Portugal to experience local life in a small mountain village in Northern Portugal where my daughter lives. I will be meeting her boyfriend’s family for the first time. I am sure that I will learn a little about local Portuguese culture here as the family play traditional Portuguese music for visitors and at the many festivals in the area. My daughter and her boyfriend also take part in the many festivals riding her horses and dressed in traditional costume to lead some of the parades.  As they don’t speak English much in the area and I only speak a little Portuguese it should certainly be interesting.

Published by

wildliferambler

I have always been fascinated by other countries and their cultures and have wanted to travel. Ten years ago at the age of 42 I got my first passport and my travel adventures began. Over the next few years I travelled both for holiday and to live abroad. Now I am in the position that for now at least I have to put my travel experiences on hold. However I still have a huge desire to learn and experience as much as I can about other countries and their cultures. Until I can tavel again I will feed this desire by learning as much as I can through research and communicating with people from other countries so that when the time is right I will be well prepared for the adventures to come.

Leave a Reply

